Location! Location! Location!

Realtors have long used this mantra to sell homes, but I’m stealing it.  😉

It really is all about LOCATION when you are shooting portraits.  My goal is to always match the location with my subject.

Let me give you an example:

This is Boogie.  He is a dancer.  I would not stick him in a cowboy hat and boots and take him out to a rustic barn and shoot portraits of him.   (I’m sure he would rock those boots, but it doesn’t fit his personality.)

Some people are very versatile and I could probably shoot them anywhere, but you want the location to fit YOU.

So, in light of this, here are a few examples of locations that I use frequently:

Parks:

When the leaves change, when the flowers are in bloom….parks are God’s natural backdrops!

Urban:

I love the urban settings!  It’s modern, and edgy and just a little part of me wishes I was both!

(OK, yes, in hindsight, this may be one of my FAVORITE types of location!)

Vintage

Vintage can be a very very simple location such as an open field of wildflowers, or a wooded area.  I’m not sure if it qualifies as a location, but it does have an amazing effect on the portraits!

Country/Rustic

So, here are a few ideas of some beautiful locations to help match your personality!  And if you have a location you’d like to work at, let’s give it a shot!  

 

 

About Dana

I'm a wife and mother, SuperWoman, personal chef, taxi, Youth Sunday School teacher, washwoman, and CEO of everything in between. Who just happens to have a love for photography!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Location! Location! Location!

  1. rmcmahon411 says:

    I love it, Dana. You have some awesome locations!

Leave a Reply

