A lesson on Beauty

Let me share a little lesson with you:

YOU are beautiful.

Got it?

YOU are beautiful!

Sometimes we don’t hear that enough.

I had the honor of shooting a friend of mine, and when I showed her the photo, she didn’t believe me when I told her I didn’t have to photoshop much of the photo!  It was ENTIRELY her beauty that I shot!

I did lighten the photo, remove the blue cast Nikon is notorious for……but this is all her beauty!

I am a strong believer that you do not have to edit a photo until you no longer recognize the person that is in it.  Overly edited photos are so common now in the age of everyone’s a “photographer”, but skin that is overly softened isn’t natural.  We are not mannequins…..not even babies, don’t overdo the skin powder!  It’s just odd.

And don’t get me STARTED on the alien eyes!  When you take a properly exposed, properly focused photograph, you don’t need to sharpen the eyes at all.   So, when you see those glowing, other-worldly, phantom eyes staring back at you……it looks bad.

So, when you are shopping for photographers, find one that will find YOUR beauty in-camera, not in photoshop.  Go through their portfolio and look closely at skin and eyes, focus and color.

Your beauty is exclusive to you.  I am pretty great at editing photos, and I do remove angry, red acne, and I have been known to remove a scar or wrinkles on the request of a client, but overall, I want your beauty to shine through, and not my editing skills.

Have you had your portrait taken yet?  Do you need one?  Send me an email and we’ll get started on finding your unique beauty!

About Dana

I'm a wife and mother, SuperWoman, personal chef, taxi, Youth Sunday School teacher, washwoman, and CEO of everything in between. Who just happens to have a love for photography!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

