I WON!!!!

So, I happen to completely LOVE a particular photography website: I β™₯ Faces! I’ve been with them for over 2 years and I’ve won a few of their contests. πŸ˜‰ But, as the website grows, and more and more AMAZING photographers join this site, the competition has gotten stiffer and STIFFER! Every week I enter not expecting to ever win anymore because there are some BIG TIME photographers entering these contests! I’m just a small-town girl who just happens to love Photography. I am NOT big time! LOL I just love to enter and LOVE to be inspired by so much talent and creativity!

So, imagine my surprise, when I sit down Saturday morning to browse (and oooh and awww) over all the winners, and there, the VERY FIRST photo is……..

MINE!

I was so shocked! Out of 802 SERIOUSLY amazing photos, MINE was chosen as FIRST PLACE!

(Yes, I may have yelled a little bit…..yes, and cried. I’m that girl.) πŸ˜€

Here is my winning photo:


(If you click on the photo, you can read what the judge had to say about my photo! AND….see the other winners. I know, they are AMAZING photos!!)

Here’s the story behind the photo:
I have a new (wonderful, fantastic, yummy) lens and I wanted to get some good practice with it before I used it on clients. So, Miss B happened to be riding her little Barbie scooter on the porch in front of the house….so I went and sat out there to see how fast this lens was. She would zip down into the driveway, then flip around and ride in front of the porch before she would flip back around and ride back to the driveway again. She really couldn’t care less about my camera on this particular day because it was nice and warm outside and she could play in the warm sun and brisk wind. On one particular turn in front of me, I caught this photo. I didn’t notice til I was editing that I actually caught her looking right at me as she flipped around on her scooter!

I love the joy in her eyes and that little tiny smile hiding behind those beautiful curls I love so much! She was just happy to play outside.

I love those sort of days….and these sort of unplanned, unposed pictures!

Always be kind to those around you!

Dana

About Dana

I'm a wife and mother, SuperWoman, personal chef, taxi, Youth Sunday School teacher, washwoman, and CEO of everything in between. Who just happens to have a love for photography!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I WON!!!!

  1. happypoppeye says:

    Great shot. Good post.
    John

  2. A Big Congratulations! This is a wonderful shot!

  3. rachal brown says:

    Such a beautiful picture!! Congrats!!

  4. This shot is amazing. It reminds me of my daughter. Congratulations.

  5. and the yummy lens you used was… ?

Leave a Reply

