Giving Back….a Prom story

A couple of weekends ago, I had the honor of photographing some beautiful young ladies!  Now, teenagers may be my favorite subjects to photograph, but put them in beautiful dresses, with perfect makeup and perfectly coiffed hair, and I may just be in Heaven!

(Yes, I may be a girly-girl.)

These were not ordinary clients though….they were nearly 700 miles away!

When asked “Would you be interested in flying to Ohio to help us in our Prom ministry?”, the answer would be “YES”.  These new clients flew me up for the weekend (FIRST CLASS!  No, I’m NOT joking!) to photograph this incredible ministry.  Let me explain a little about what it was they did.  This particular community had a need:  their girls couldn’t afford the many many expenses that go into attending a Prom!  The tickets are expensive, but then tack on hair and make up and shoes and purses and accessories….oh wait…AND, that all important DRESS, and there was no way they could go.

So, this church Epiphany Lutheran Church in Centerville Ohio, had the idea to help make this high school right-of-passage come true.  They had over 200 beautiful dresses donated, amazing hair stylists and make up artists…..and me.  They picked their dress, had their hair and make up done, and then, I would take their portraits.

Originally, we were going to do these portraits outside on their beautiful grounds, however, mother nature had a different plan….it rained.  So portraits were moved to inside the church.  I totally improvised and made it work under not-so-ideal conditions….but, the name of the game was MAKE THESE GIRLS FEEL BEAUTIFUL.

It was incredible.

And for a lady who never feels good enough, or pretty enough….this was a moving experience!  These ladies were wonderful.  They were excited, happy, appreciative, and on more than one occasion, I heard “That’s ME??” after they would view their photo.

It was an experience of a lifetime….for me.  Beyond being flown into another state….beyond first class seating on an airplane….it made me stop and view myself differently.  I need to stop being so hard on myself, and embrace who God made me to be.  I was honored to help out this ministry and to have been chosen to help these girls feel beautiful.  I am honored.

And, if they brought their mothers with them….I did their portraits together.  I love my Mother.  She is my best friend, and I don’t have nearly enough pictures with her and I.  So given half a chance, I will photograph mothers and daughters together.

So, if you ask “Will you travel….” the answer is “Yes.”  I’m already planning my next trip the following weekend….to Washington State for a family photo session!

Be kind to others, and always try to give more than you take!

Dana

About Dana

I'm a wife and mother, SuperWoman, personal chef, taxi, Youth Sunday School teacher, washwoman, and CEO of everything in between. Who just happens to have a love for photography!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Giving Back….a Prom story

  1. Beautiful! Photos and story! Brought tears to my eyes! And you did a PHENOMENAL job! Those pictures are stunning! What a blessing to those sweet girls!

  2. P.S. Hug those people in Washington one time (extra tight) for me, will you? Thanks!

  3. Alisa says:

    Dana – what a great thing to do! You as the photographer, how exciting is that to be traveling, doing what you love and are so blessed with. And then I lOVE the prom dress idea. It is such a huge expense and how wonderful for those people to donate there dresses, time, etc….Cool, cool cool, you go girl!

  4. JennyRain says:

    1 – I love this ministry
    2 – I LOVE that you got to be their paparazzi 🙂 The photos are lovely!

  5. kellie says:

    i love everything about this post. everything.

  6. Kathryn says:

    Hi Dana,

    I just found your blog through iheartfaces and I am amazed. Your photography is just exquisite and I am so inspired! This post in particular is just wonderful. We, as women, are much to hard on ourselves, but look at this beautiful gift you have given these girls. Love it!

Leave a Reply

