Family session giveaway!

A few weeks ago, on my Facebook Fanpage, I felt the need to give away a FREE family session.  The participants only needed to email me with their story and a photo, and at the end of the contest, my sweet kids and I would pick a winner.

(For the record, I am constantly getting the urge to have specials and give aways and discounts….so, become a FAN on facebook and watch those specials!)

I’ve seen a lot of death and cancer and hospice lately, and I always hope they have an amazing family portrait to leave behind.  So this prompted the give away on facebook.

I received an email from a very unlikely candidate:  my sweet blog friend, Rachel.  It wasn’t that she didn’t have a need, here are a couple of parts from her letter:

Last week, my Mother-in-Love was diagnosed with a grade 4 tumor. She has brain cancer, the worst kind.

I remember crying through your posts about God healing your mom (I cry a lot, don’t I?), and I know you understand how our lives have been turned upside down over the possibility of losing a woman we love very much.

Two days after the diagnosis, I realized that it had been forever since family pictures had been taken. In fact, I think it was well over a decade ago, that Mom and her siblings had done the good old 80’s Olan Mills session.

What breaks my heart, is that in considering her treatment options, my Mother-in-Love had to realize that she would lose her hair. The utter disappointment on her face was devastating. Nearly 80 years old, and losing your hair. It wasn’t vanity – but just another personal thing taken away by cancer. And in these next few weeks and months of treatment, I worry about the opportunities for family photos. Worry about her feeling well and getting the chance to make these memories.

She has a very deep need….the only problem is:  SHE LIVES IN WASHINGTON STATE!

But that letter ended with:  if she is chosen as the winner, they will fly me up there.

So, last weekend, away I flew, complete with my oldest son in tow, to states I have never been before, to a ‘stranger’ I had never met before, to do family portraits for some of the wildest, most loving, amazing people out there!

Their desire wasn’t only for the pretty, posed photos of all of the siblings together again….they wanted the laughter, the pranks, the silliness….and those touching moments that make life bearable.

(someone may or MAY NOT have been pinching the other on the down under…. 😉  )

They wanted memories of healthy days, lazy days…..days just being together.

The wanted the everyday.  Not the perfect.  Just the every day.  The great grandsons running to meet their great grandma with a hug and a kiss.  The great grandaughters having a chuckle….just like always.

The beautiful posed photos happened of families with family, and the wonderful image of a beautiful, very loved matriarch.

She was, afterall, the entire reason for the trip.  But when all is said and done, what they wanted was the normal…..the memories of the common occuranceAnd that is what I captured.

But what I hadn’t planned on….was leaving there loving them all too.

What an amazing family.  Congratulations to the Grayless family for being a wonderful example of a loving family.  Our prayers are with you Mama Grayless. 

About Dana

I'm a wife and mother, SuperWoman, personal chef, taxi, Youth Sunday School teacher, washwoman, and CEO of everything in between. Who just happens to have a love for photography!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Family session giveaway!

  1. Alexis says:

    Dang, I couldn’t even make it a quarter of the way through before the tears started tumbling… whew! I had been waiting for the “story behind the shoot” and I’m so glad you were able to share it! Amazing photos, and a beautiful family. My prayers to Mama Grayless and family – and God bless you Dana, for sharing your amazing gifts.

  2. Kelly Walton says:

    Dana, Chance, Carly and I would LOVE to win a family picture photographed by you, as I am a single momma with 2 of the best kids, we haven’t had a family picture taken in almost 5 years, with Chance having upto 4 therapies in a week plus a chiropractor appt for Chance ( sciolosis in 2 parts in his back). Thanks Kelly Walton

  3. I had already seen (some of) the photos…but this story makes it ALL the more beautiful.

    Praying!

  4. Rachel says:

    Gosh Dana – I’m all weepy. Thank you so much for the EXPERIENCE.

    For flying out (and dragging poor Austin with you – kicking and screaming all the way to his retro cowboy kiddie bed 😉 and for spending the day with us, for making us laugh, for taking those amazing photos and for being part of our extraordinarily normal day with our beloved Mom.

    I love that you captured these images – it warms my heart that you saw those moments and that my family fell in love with you. You know that you were part of something wonderful in bringing us together at least just for an afternoon.

    They’re wondering when you’re coming back again? 🙂

    Please come sit at my kitchen table until midnight again – it was amazing simply getting to meet you, friend!

    Thank you so much for your generosity in these pictures (and for using that God-given talent I’ve been telling you about all these years 🙂

  5. Beautiful story! Beautiful family. Beautiful hearts. Beautiful photos! I’m so glad that your time with them went beyond family portraits and caught glimpses, memories etched on fil (except that you probably didn’t use film), that will make them smile for years to come! You have a gift, Dana! Thank you for using it to bless our friends and their family!

  6. Pingback: True story Tuesday-Oh Barnacles! « From chaos to Grace…

  7. I love this session! Not canned but not too funky either. So natural versus overstylized. The story is heartwrenching. That lovely lady certainly does not look her age! What a gift you gave them.

  8. I came over to say congratulations on your win : ) This is a beautiful thing. So glad you had the opportunity to shoot your friend and her family. I have been praying for her since Rachel first mentioned it. I know God does miracles. I hope he does one for her!

  9. Pingback: People’s Choice-I Heart Faces | Dana's Photography

  10. Cathy says:

    nice to see the family behind the story very touching and I can see where you would feel as if you knew them for a long time.

Leave a Reply

